Posted in Awareness

Notable in April

I’ve  started this little gallery widget on my sidebar.

I’m adding small pictures / text that highlight the various awareness days.  Since WordPress (and my wee little blog) has international followers I’m trying to focus on “world awareness” days.

I know I’m missing many. I’m adding those who touch my life, my heart and my imagination.

Some are so very important at a life level others are important because they promote joy.

We may not have the money to give to help but we all have time. Time to learn and understand.

Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world.

Nelson Mandela

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Notable in April include:

Daffodil Month ~ Canadian Cancer Society

World Autism Day ~ April 2 ~ Light it up blue.

International Children’s Book Day ~ April 2

International Pillow Fight – April 5

Earth Day – April 22 ~ Earth Day Canada  / Earth Day International

World Book Night ~ April 23

Why April 23?

April 23 is a symbolic date for world literature. It is both the birth and death day of Shakespeare, as well as the death day of Cervantes, the great Spanish novelist. It is in their honour that UNESCO appointed it the international day of the book and that we choose it to celebrate World Book Night.  (continued on website linked above)

International Dance Day ~ April 29

The day was first established by UNESCO in 1982 and it is held every 29 April, as this is the birthdate of Jean-Georges Noverre (1727-1810), creator of modern ballet.

Author:

Canadian, Mom, Wife, Sister, Aunt

2 thoughts on “Notable in April

Kindly share your ponderings!

