Posted in Monday Musings, pondering

Monday Musing : New adventure?

New adventure? I keep peeking back.

“You get a strange feeling when you’re about to leave a place, I told him, like you’ll not only miss the people you love but you’ll miss the person you are now at this time and this place, because you’ll never be this way ever again.”
― Azar Nafisi, Reading Lolita in Tehran

It’s ok. I don’t mind something new. But it’s like jumping from stone to stone over a stream. You’re never quite sure about the next stone ’til you land.  I’ll adjust to the new stone when I land. I know that. The feeling mid air ..that’s what I’m not too crazy about.

I’ve been through knowing I’ll “never be this way again” and that’s ok too. I will take that part of me and build on it or around it. Right now I’m just not sure where I’m heading. I’ve got to take that step out my door…just not today. Today I am still peeking back while I look for a direction to head forward.

Bag End ~ The Hobbit, Peter Jackson, Director

“Sorry! I don’t want any adventures, thank you. Not Today. Good morning! But please come to tea – any time you like! Why not tomorrow? Good bye!”

Bilbo Baggins, The Hobbit, Unexpected Party    ~ J.R.R Tolkien
Author:

Canadian, Mom, Wife, Sister, Aunt

5 thoughts on “Monday Musing : New adventure?

  1. I am feeling the same way as I prepare to leave China and a secure job. What next? As we know teaching is not an option at home…. Thinking what next and reinventing myself at this stage can be scary. I thought about it, but tried not to let it bother me. Easier said than done right? From experience though I knew it would all work out. Then all of a sudden things started to happen. Lets just hope one of those things turn out to be a secure landing. As you say that feeling of uncertainty before you land is the worst part.

    Liked by 1 person

Kindly share your ponderings!

