Posted in Nature, pondering

Hello Moon

I have always been fascinated with the moon. Perhaps it’s because I was born a couple months before Neil Armstrong stepped onto the moon? I don’t know. I do know that as long as I’ve had a camera I’ve taken photos of her. As the years went on I have been able to capture close to what I see. “They” tell me that with some practice I can take decent night / moon photos with my current camera(s). Perhaps I lack the patience? Never the less, I continue taking photos of the moon. She calls to me. I’ll always love how she quietly listens.


 

The moon was full on July 2, and it’ll be full again on July 31. The second of two full moons in a calendar month is often called a Blue Moon. In recent years, people have been using the name Blue Moon for the second of two full moons in a single calendar month. An older definition of Blue Moon is that it’s the third of four full moons in a single season. Someday, you might see an actual blue-colored moon. The term once in a blue moon used to mean something rare. Now that the rules for naming Blue Moons include several different possibilities, Blue Moons are pretty common! Follow the links below to learn more about Blue Moons: ~ EarthSky.org


July 1 2015 ~ 9:45 pm EDT (taken with my phone’s camera)

Taken July 24 2015 ~ 5:45 pm (EDT)

July 27 2015 8:05 pm EDT


I’ve been adding photos to this post for a few days. I was fascinated by a photo posted by Our Rumbling Ocean. world-map-background - CopyA world apart and we can take photos of the same object.  It’s exciting to see how the moon looks from a different continent. I can’t tell you how thrilled I was when Our Rumbling Ocean said that I could include the moon photo from South Africa !!


 

July 29 / July 30 / July 31

I almost didn’t get a photo on the night of the ‘Blue Moon’.  I was happy to play peek-a-boo with Moon to get the shots I did.

Aim for the moon. If you miss, you may hit a star.

W. Clement Stone

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Author:

Canadian, Mom, Wife, Sister, Aunt <3 crochet, Doctor Who, WoW, Disney, reading, photography, working with kids, camping, Star Wars, Lord of the Rings, chocolate, fall..... MY BLOGS: Patchwork Ponderings / Crochet Stitches & Butterfly Kisses / Just Breathe and Be Grateful

6 thoughts on “Hello Moon

Kindly share your ponderings!

