Posted in Family, Grateful for

Grateful for his spirit of adventure.

This is one of ‘those’ summers for my son. It’s a transition time; the time between elementary school and high school. With it comes the swirl of excitement, nervousness and all the other mysterious things that go through a teenage boys head.

He’s always wanted to be “big” and he’s always wanted to be independent. Giving him the room to do that has always been my challenge. I’m thinking about all that when he bounds out the door to go with his friends to an amusement park. His friend knocked at the door and he was out of here. Didn’t even look back to wave at me.

Which is where my thoughts are now… I’m remembering how the first day of junior kindergarten (4 yrs old) he didn’t look back. And I know he’ll do the same for the first day of high school. He won’t look back. He dives into a new adventure feet first.

I’m grateful for his spirit, for his confidence. I’m happy that he’s excited to jump in to new things. I worry. I worry too much which is why I’m so grateful that he didn’t pick that up from me.

I had to put in a quote from one of my favourite books this week because it relates to what Colline is grateful for this week.

I’d love to hear about your week! What are you grateful for this week?


“As the years pass, I am coming more and more to understand that it is the common, everyday blessings of our common everyday lives for which we should be particularly grateful. They are the things that fill our lives with comfort and our hearts with gladness — just the pure air to breathe and the strength to breath it; just warmth and shelter and home folks; just plain food that gives us strength; the bright sunshine on a cold day; and a cool breeze when the day is warm.”

― Laura Ingalls Wilder, Writings to Young Women from Laura Ingalls Wilder – Volume One: On Wisdom and Virtues

Author:

Canadian, Mom, Wife, Sister, Aunt <3 crochet, Doctor Who, WoW, Disney, reading, photography, working with kids, camping, Star Wars, Lord of the Rings, chocolate, fall..... My blogs: Patchwork Ponderings / Crochet Stitches & Butterfly Kisses / Just Breathe and Be Grateful

3 thoughts on “Grateful for his spirit of adventure.

  1. I LOVE the quote you have shared with us!
    I am going through the same feelings as you with regards to our children. It is so hard to let go, isn’t it, of our little ones – and to remember that they are not so little any more.

    Liked by 1 person

Kindly share your ponderings!

