Posted in Grateful for

Grateful for star gazing

This past camping trip we enjoyed a few nights by the fire and a sky full of stars. The kind of ‘full’ that you can only see when you are far away from the city on a ‘new moon’ night.  We did see a few falling stars (meteors) and I think the space station. We were also lucky to see a firefly or two.

I can’t find the words to properly describe how it feels while you gaze at the sky brimming with stars, listening to the waves, and feeling the warmth of the camp fire. It is truly amazing.

This is one of my favourite quotes, however ‘soothed’ doesn’t see to quite describe it either.

“I go to nature to be soothed and healed, and to have my senses put in order.”
― John Burroughs

I wish I could take photos of the stars and ‘shooting stars’ that we watched but the camera I’d need is on the “some day” list. The sky looked similar to this:

Perseids Meteor Shower ~ photo credit: NASA
photo credit DarkSkyViewing.org (Eastern Ontario, Canada)

Please take a moment to share what you are grateful for this week. Colline asks:

I enjoy reading what others are grateful for – the posts make me think of other things I am happy to have in my life. Please remember to send me a pingback so that I know you have participated.

Author:

Canadian, Mom, Wife, Sister, Aunt <3 crochet, Doctor Who, WoW, Disney, reading, photography, working with kids, camping, Star Wars, Lord of the Rings, chocolate, fall..... My blogs: Patchwork Ponderings / Crochet Stitches & Butterfly Kisses / Just Breathe and Be Grateful

5 thoughts on “Grateful for star gazing

Kindly share your ponderings!

