Posted in Family, Grateful for, pondering

The ‘in between’

This is the biggest “in between” that I’ve gone through. Our family is in between stages. The end of one and the start of a much bigger step. The waves of emotion keep flooding over me then lifting me up.

Our daughter will be staring university in the Fall. She’ll move an hour and a half away. Oh my that alone is such a mix of emotions. I’m worried about her being on her own. Proud of her ‘ready to take it on – even when I’m scared’ attitude. I’m excited about all the adventure that my young lady has ahead and all she’ll learn. I’ll miss my baby girl terribly.

“With due respect to my son’s feelings, I have the worse of it. I know something he doesn’t — not quite a secret, but incomprehensible to the young,” he wrote. “He is experiencing the adjustments that come with beginnings. His life is starting for real. I have begun the long letting go.”  ~  Michael Gerson in The Washington Post

For the family it means our normal patterns will be adjusted. Traditional vacations and gatherings will be changed. We cherish those times and feel the need to hold them now as we see them fading into memory. Last December we went to Disney because it’s a place that the four of us hold dear. We were to go with our extended family to Cuba this March but we had to cancel. Now we’ve just booked our spring trip with my sister’s family. We almost didn’t but this year will be the last for the 8 of us. And each year from now on will have one less of the four kids at home.   We’re transitioning to a time without kids again. It’s not the same as ‘before kids’. My life is so much richer now that I’m a Mom.

“I will not say, do not weep, for not all tears are an evil.”
― J.R.R. Tolkien

I’m so grateful that we have such a close relationship with our kids. My sister’s kids are very close in age to my kids and they’re more like brothers and sister than cousins. I’m so very grateful that they have that connection.

It’s those connections that make this transition easier. The strong connections give me something to steady myself as we move across to the next phase in our family life. ❤

Author:

Canadian, Mom, Wife, Sister, Aunt <3 crochet, Doctor Who, WoW, Disney, reading, photography, working with kids, camping, Star Wars, Lord of the Rings, chocolate, fall..... My blogs: Patchwork Ponderings / Crochet Stitches & Butterfly Kisses / Just Breathe and Be Grateful

Kindly share your ponderings!

