Posted in Hygge, pondering

A Patchwork of Hygge ~ an Introduction

In Canada, we’re celebrating Family Day. Over on my “journey” blog Just Breathe & Be Grateful, I’ve been starting to explore the concept of hygge (pronounced  hooga) I found a lovely blog How to Hygge the British Way that introduced me to this concept.

Hygge translates roughly to ‘cosiness’. “Hygge is as Danish as pork roast and it goes far in

WP_20141215_002
golden glow

illuminating the Danish soul. In essence, hygge means creating a warm atmosphere and enjoying the good things in life with good people. The warm glow of candlelight is hygge. Friends and family – that’s hygge too.” [source: visitdenmark.com/hygge]

Hygge and Family Day are a perfect fit! So I thought today would be a great way to start a monthly feature here on Patchwork Ponderings.

Each month I’m going to post something…most likely photos, perhaps a wee story about hygge; about how I’m creating a ‘warm atmosphere and enjoying the good things in life with good people.’

Currently, I aim to post weekly a gratitude post. Often it’s just a tiny post. These posts are mainly for me but I know everyone will benefit from finding the good; from finding at least one thing in your week to be grateful for. I’m sure my monthly hygge posts will be similar but the more positive in my world the better.

I’d love to see your posts and/or thoughts about your month!

Author:

Canadian, Mom, Wife, Sister, Aunt

Kindly share your ponderings!

