Posted in Grateful for, pondering, Scope for the Imagination

Fantastic Beasts…I finally saw them

{possiable SPOILER alert in my ramblings}

I have to admit. I was a little afraid that watching Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them would tarnish my love of the wizarding world. I’m not sure exactly why but it disappeared quickly.  I was very relieved when I did watch the movie. The movie was wonderful. I felt like I was seeing a bit of wizarding world history.

When I started with the Harry Potter book series it was as if I followed what I’d mistaken for a rabbit down a hole but it was a demiguise or some other fantastic beast. Then I drank a bottle labeled “Drink Me” ..it was polyjuice potion and I was now part of this new world.

Then I started to watch the movies. I love the movies because they give voice to beloved characters and add stronger colours to the images in my head. Love that I’ll always hear Emma’s voice as I read, “Honestly, Ron..”  or Rupert’s  Why spiders? Why couldn’t it be ‘follow the butterflies’? and Dan’s voice replying “Well, I am the Chosen One.”    And Alan’s voice will be in our hearts, “After all this time?” “Always.” The sentiment felt by all who love the Harry Potter series. It’s a love for life.

But it’s the books… from “You’re a wizard, Harry.”  to “”Albus Severus, you were named for two headmasters of Hogwarts. One of them was a Slytherin and he was probably the bravest man I ever knew.”  that’s where my heart truly lies. J.K. Rowling spun an amazing tale.  It’s the feeling that you are part of the stories, that leads you to the platform between 9 and 10. … the magic that says “I can close my eyes and walk… I’ll be seeing the train.”

A friend gave me most of the books over a few years. She first introduced me to them when I needed a break. Escaping to Hogwarts was as much a relief from the everyday to me as it was for Harry. I’ll be forever grateful to her for bringing me to this world.

“Tell me one last thing,” said Harry. “Is this real? Or has this been happening inside my head?”
“Of course it is happening inside your head, Harry, but why on earth should that mean that it is not real?”

― J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

Author:

Canadian, Mom, Wife, Sister, Aunt

4 thoughts on “Fantastic Beasts…I finally saw them

Kindly share your ponderings!

